From a Newbie: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

One Fuddy-Duddy perspective… I’m new to 3D printing, a 1 year laser engraver/cutter user, and almost 60 year woodworker for which CNC is second nature (almost). A Bakers’ Dozen off “just gotta know”.

1. This is a fabulously designed/built product; in that small 1/2 dozen companies I truly admire. A- (95-96%). Following could help get to A+!(99-100%)

2. Really need a simple pub explaining every option in SM-Luban, why I should care, what happens when I change them, and how each factor effects each of the common filament types.

3. 3D printings; anyone recommend to me a single source book, site, etc that fully explains at the newbie level most aspects/considerations of 3D printing. For others the same recommendation for laser and CNC would likely be welcome.

4. Glass top over top heat base? Type of glass? thickness? heat treated? Attach with binder clips?

5. Best ways and all that is included in discussion threads to clean 3D pads? Does heating help?

6. Suggest SM identify and team with a great filament seller and wangle their members a 10% discount and free shipping on orders of $XY or more… everyone wins.

7. Enclosure… love it; but need better use guidance including detailed steps to update Firmware (explain why).

8. Start a drop site where users can propose questions and info regarding any of this software and hardware WITH SM assurance they will read each one and if prudent, include in monthly manual updates.

9. A little more in what not to embrace/cut in laser that could explode and maximum size of lockers.

10. Electric chord from control head to 3D printer is a little tight/short, crosses (rubs) filament, etc. some sort of spring arm above x-axis and a longer chord should be considered.